A Fresh Coat of Paint

*flips the light switch on*

Hello? Anybody home?

*brushes away cobwebs*

Hello?

*runs a finger along a dusty table*

*glances at an angry looking spider*

*desperately hopes it didn’t see me*

Yikes. What. A. Mess.

It’s like nobody’s stepped foot in here for months. I mean, just look at the place. The heat’s off. The furniture’s in shambles. The pipes are all frozen. The walls are stripped bare. The ceiling is leaking with…vegetable juice, maybe? And there’s either a very large turd or a very small armadillo residing in the corner.

Whoever was running this joint has really let it go to shit. I just hope I can find the asshole that had the audacity to do this so I can give him a piece of my mind and–

Wait a minute.

*checks notes*

Ah.

I’m that asshole.

That actually kind of makes sense.

So clearly, I haven’t updated this site for a while. That’s on me. My bad, as they say. But that’s all about to change. Because I promise you this: I’m going to clean this place up. Slap on some new paint. Buy new furniture. Clean up that turd and/or find a loving home for that armadillo. Continue to ignore the angry looking spider whose home I may or may not have just destroyed.

But be forewarned.

When I’m done, this place isn’t going to look the same. Instead of being a collection of my short stories and flash fiction as it once was, I’ll be turning it into a writing blog.

More specifically, a blog on writing.

Or to add even more specificity to that specificity: a blog about an inexperienced writer working through the creative process.

Now, you might be wondering what prompted this change. And if you weren’t, you better be wondering it now, dammit.

If you want the answer to that, you’ll just have to wait until the next post.

In the meantime, I hope you don’t mind the intoxicating aroma of a fresh coat of paint.

Leave a Reply

